National Steering Group

The National Steering Group was established, by Government decision (2006), replacing the Inter-Departmental Committee on Major Emergencies. The National Steering Group is mandated by Government to oversee the implementation and the development of the Framework for Major Emergency Management (2006), essentially acting as the board of management for the Principal Response Agencies MEM (in terms of governance structures). This group comprises of representatives of  five Government Departments (Housing, Health, Justice, Defence and Transport) and the three Principal Response Agencies, An Garda Síochána, the Health Service Executive and the Local Authorities (via the City and County Managers Association). The National Steering Group is chaired and supported by a secretariat from the Department of Housing, Planning & Local Government. The National Steering Group aims to drive continuous improvement, facilitating research and development and supporting knowledge sharing and learning in MEM.